Image of Springfield, Illinois

Springfield, Illinois

Springfield is the state capital of Illinois and the county-seat of Sangamon County. It is situated five miles south of the Sangamon River and 185 miles southwest of Chicago. In 1819, John Kelly made the first settlement in the area. On April 10, 1821, the first Board of County Commissioners selected Springfield as the temporary county-seat of Sangamon County, the organization of which had been authorized by act of the legislature in January 1821. In 1823, the legislature made this selection permanent. Later in 1823, the first sale of lands took place, the original site being entered by Pascal P. Enos, Elijah Iles, and Thomas Cox. In 1837, the legislature made Springfield the state capital. The first session of the legislature in Springfield took place in December of 1839.
Paul Selby, Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Sangamon County, Vol. II (Chicago: Munsell Publishing Company, 1912), 496. Illustration courtesy of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, Springfield, IL.